I like to Move It, Move It

All Gamed Out Mom

Apart from my box of Cadbury’s Milk Tray (which is the only gift I ever ask for, and expect to get) I was also given two PS3 move controllers and the game Kung Fu Rider for Christmas. My reaction to the chocolates was YESSSS!!!! My reaction to the PS3 stuff was “eh nice, uh thanks”.

Yes, I was a little disappointed. Yes, I was an ungrateful cow.

It took a while for me to get over my distinct lack of enthusiasm. In fact he* had to set up everything and he was the first one to actually use any of it.

And he was having fun doing it.

And I was a little jealous. So I decided to stop indulging my inner sulky five-year-old and joined in.

Fun was had by all. The End. Well not quite. We went out shopping this morning for games, specifically Sports Champions because I was getting so good at the demo table tennis game (that came with the motion controller) that I was winning whilst playing left-handed**.

And I also seem to have found, finally, a first person shooter (The Shoot) that I like playing.

With the constant cloudy and rainy days that have made up the majority of our holiday (we last used the pool on Christmas day) we’ve been gaming a lot which entails sitting on our butts and consolidating all our holiday weight gain in our asses***. So now I get to game and get physical and all this moving around makes me feel really good.

I didn’t realize that I was actually starting to feel a little, I was going to say claustrophobic (because of being trapped in the house all day) but really the correct word is depressed. Who knew that no sunshine and sitting around all day could make one depressed?

I’ve also discovered the added benefit of trash talking my table tennis opponents without fear that they’ll come round to my side of the table and beat the crap out of me. This is possibly more fun than actually winning the matches.

We have one week of holiday left. I realise that the moment we go back to work glorious sunny weather will return to these parts. But that’s okay. My garden can enjoy the thorough watering and I’ll enjoy practicing headshots. Because gaming doesn’t make people violent, lack of an internet connection does.

* He needs a blog pseudonym. I am tempted to capitalize the H in He so that he feels more important and so that you will know that I am talking about him (him = man I love and live with) and not some other male person. But that doesn’t sound distinct enough; it doesn’t POP. Sigh. Will have to ask him what he wants to be called on this here blog. But he should know, up front, that Captain Underpants is out.

** My next step was to try the tw0 player option and play against myself. That was going to be oh so awesome because I’d always win.

*** When I say ‘we’ I really mean ‘me’. I don’t hate him because he is skinny but I am mightily envious.

2 thoughts on “I like to Move It, Move It

  1. When most people ask for advice, all they really want is corroboration. Similarly, gifts tend to be things that the giver – rather than the givee – would like (yes, yes, I know “recipient” is the correct word, but it lacks poetry).

  2. Tracy L

    Ah, but we will cut the giver some slack because he was attempting to bridge the gap between his console gaming girlfriend and his PC gaming self.
    And thanks for the sunshine and warmth, Kyknoord, I finally got to use the swimming pool again 🙂

Leave a Reply

