A List for Doing

From Our Table

It is a feature of my everyday working life that I make lists of things to do. And I derive great joy from crossing those things off my list as they are done. Sometimes I do things that don’t even make it on to the list (but need doing) and other times I write the list (and mark it off as complete) after I’ve already done everything. No matter. The list helps because I have a memory like a sieve and it keeps me focused on the work at hand.

So without further ado, herewith my list of things to do:

Certify – as in obtain the necessary certification in my chosen field. This has been on the list from about June last year when I finally qualified for writing the exam. I just didn’t have the time, the energy or even the inclination to study (work was busy, insanely so), and a lot of study is required.

Exercise – because this will help with the studying. I reached a point last year when I was just tired of being tired. I don’t want to be tired all the time. I don’t want to put off studying because all the energy I have left over at the end of the work day goes into navigating Gauteng’s roads and drivers so that I can get myself home safe.  Maggie Mason’s post on exercise  could not have come at a better time and was rather inspiring. Fifteen minutes, I can manage that.

Socialize – He and I are really introverted people. It should come as no surprise that we’re both avid gamers and readers and the most socially active we’ve ever been was when we played WoW. We got off to a good start this year by seeing in the New Year with friends. Well okay they are also family but it was a step in the right direction for us. And we just hosted our first dinner party for the year.

Create –To create, to evolve from one’s own thought or imagination, as a work of art or an invention*. To use my talents (such as they are) for something other than someone else’s corporate enrichment; to create and make something original and enduring, something beautiful and good. I wish to do more of this.

I have promised myself this year that working overtime will be the exception, not the rule, Mondays to Fridays. And if I stick to getting home at a reasonable time (traffic permitting) then there will be time for all of the above.

I realise that nothing on this list will ever be quite done, except maybe for the certification. And that’s okay by me. Making the list was the first step and at least I can mark that one item (that’s not even on the list) as done.

* definition via dictionary.com 

One thought on “A List for Doing

  1. Pingback: Done. Mostly | Writing Resumed

Leave a Reply

