Run Tracy Run

And just when I thought that I’d have nothing to blog about this week, I drove past the local primary school and was reminded that South Africans are meant to register for the upcoming local elections. Now I’m not going to use this space to tell you who to put in charge or the nation but I am a strong believer in at least registering so that when elections do come around, I have the option of participating.

I can, however, use this space to indulge myself in imagining life in South Africa if I were left in charge for a while.

For starters I’d declare weekends to be a three day affair so that we can all stop dreading Mondays. Yip, that alone would probably get me elected.

Next up on my agenda would be the world of … Book Selling. I know, I know, I’m probably the only person who has this issue but dammit, if I’m going to be in charge then I might as well use my opportunity to fix the things that really, REALLY bother me.

Allow me to explain.

I’m an avid reader for science fiction and fantasy and and the most common feature of these genres are trilogies. My issue is not with trilogies, per se, but with the way they are sold. Just last week Exclusive Books were having a sale in the open area of the mall close to where I work. Great for Exclusive Books and great for me. While I was browsing, I came across a book by David and Leigh Eddings. I’ve read Eddings before and I’ve really enjoyed the books so I’m keen and happy to add some of them to my own collections. But of course the only books on sale were books three and four of the series.

So I bought a book on Black Adder instead.

I realise that it would be impractical to force publishers to publish trilogies all at once; that sometimes a first book is written as an only book and then when it’s successful or when the author realises that the story can be expanded and continued, that a second and third (and in Eddings’ case a fourth and fifth and sixth and  seventh and eighth and ninth and tenth) book follows.

But what I am proposing, and would put into legislation, is that when that second book comes out it has to be sold along with the first. And when the third book came along, it would have to be sold along with the first and second. You get the idea.

Of course if you bought the first book the first time around, the bookseller will give you a full discount and you could donate the already read book to a library.

I know this is not the burning issue of our time; that crime and unemployment will always be the more important problems to solve but when I don’t buy books it’s bad for the economy (and that just then exacerbates the unemployment and crime problems). So it’s a small solution to an even smaller problem but every little thing counts.

Just like a vote, right?

3 thoughts on “Run Tracy Run

  1. Tracy L

    Hi and welcome to mypurplehoneyjar – thank you so much for stopping by. Agree totally, it’s always nice to find other SA bloggers out there in the wilds of the internet. So cool, and so linked 🙂

    And to Kyknoord – can I blame her too because my ex husband works in IT. He was the one who owned all the Eddings books. I should have taken them along with the good cutlery. But never mind, I’ve got better cutlery now.

Leave a Reply

